Currency Union

What is a Currency Union?

A currency union (also referred to as a monetary union) is a relationship between two or more countries to share a single currency.

To manage a country's monetary policy, it may be beneficial to share a currency with another country, or peg an individual currency to another country's. The development of currency union, or monetary union, may maximise economic efficiency, and lower trade costs among the participating countries.

Any opinions, news, research, analyses, prices, other information, or links to third-party sites are provided as general market commentary and do not constitute investment advice. FXCM will not accept liability for any loss or damage including, without limitation, to any loss of profit which may arise directly or indirectly from use of or reliance on such information.