Currency Union

What is a Currency Union?

A currency union (also referred to as a monetary union) is a relationship between two or more countries to share a single currency.

To manage a country's monetary policy, it may be beneficial to share a currency with another country, or peg an individual currency to another country's. The development of currency union, or monetary union, may maximise economic efficiency, and lower trade costs among the participating countries.