Kyoto Protocol

What Is the Kyoto Protocol?

The Kyoto Protocol is an agreement by the international community to reduce carbon emissions and greenhouse gases.

Signed on 11 December 1997 in Kyoto, Japan, the Kyoto Protocol was designed to combat global warming. The protocol states that global warming is caused by CO2 emissions from man-made sources, and that parties commit to reduce emissions. The initial commitment timeframe to reduce emissions (2008 to 2012) was extended through 2020. There are 192 parties assigned to the protocol.