AUD – Australian Dollar

The Australian dollar is the official currency of the Commonwealth of Australia, which includes mainland Australia, its territories, as well as Kiribati, Nauru, Tuvalu and Zimbabwe. The Australian dollar, nicknamed "the aussie," uses the dollar sign ($), and is sometimes written as A$ or AU$ to distinguish it from other dollar currencies. The aussie is the fifth most-traded currency in the world, with a 8.6% share in daily transactions. The aussie divides into 100 cents, and is used in both coin and banknote forms. The aussie trades with the currency code AUD and is controlled by the Reserve Bank of Australia.



The Australian dollar came into use 14 February 1966. Between 1910 and 1966, the Australian pound was used, but the changeover to the dollar occurred when Australia decided for decimalisation. The new dollar was initially pegged to the pound sterling, but then was pegged to the US dollar in 1967. In 1976, the aussie switched again; this time as a moving peg to a basket of currencies, called a time weighted index. Then, beginning in 1983, the aussie began to float.

Coins and Bills

The Australian dollar is denominated in $5, $10, $20, $50 and $100 bills and 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, $1 and $2 banknotes. All Australian coins are minted by the Royal Australian mint. Coins are medallic orientation, meaning the image is right side up when flipped on the vertical axis. Previously used 1c and 2c coins were discontinued in 1991, due to increasing values in metals. Polymer banknotes have been in use since 1988, containing high levels of security features, like transparent windows and diffractive optically variable devices, the first currency to use such features.((http://www.rba.gov.au/Museum/Displays/1988_onwards_polymer_currency_notes/first_polymer.html Retrieved 13 March 2015.))


The following territories and countries use the Australian dollar:

  • Australia
  • Ashmore and Cartier Islands
  • Australian Antarctic Territory
  • Christmas Island
  • Cocos Islands
  • Coral Sea Islands
  • Heard Island and McDonald Islands
  • Norfolk Island
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru
  • Tuvalu
  • Zimbabwe

Pegged Currencies

The Australian dollar is pegged by the Tuvaluan dollar and Kiribati dollar.

Any opinions, news, research, analyses, prices, other information, or links to third-party sites are provided as general market commentary and do not constitute investment advice. FXCM will not accept liability for any loss or damage including, without limitation, to any loss of profit which may arise directly or indirectly from use of or reliance on such information.


These materials constitute marketing communication and do not take into consideration your personal circumstances, investment experience or current financial situation. The content is provided as general market commentary and should not be construed as containing any type of investment advice, investment recommendation and/or a solicitation for any investment transactions. This market communication does not imply or impose an obligation on you to perform an investment transaction and/or purchase investment products or services. These materials have not been prepared in accordance with legal requirements designed to promote the independence of investment research and are not subject to any prohibition on dealing ahead of the dissemination of investment research.

FXCM, and any of its Affiliates, shall not in any way be liable to you for any inaccuracies, errors or omissions, regardless of cause, in the content of these materials, or for any damages (whether direct or indirect) which may arise from the use of such materials, services and their content. Consequently, any person acting on them does so entirely at their own risk. Please ensure that you read and understand our Full Disclaimer and Liability provision concerning the foregoing Information, which can be accessed here.